Revamped 'America's Best Dance Crew' gets new moniker, judges and host

Revamped 'America's Best Dance Crew' gets new moniker, judges and host
Ronnie Abaldonado goes up on one hand while reahearsing with Super Cr3w -- winners of Season 2 of "America's Best Dance Crew" -- while on the set. (Gina Ferazzi / Los Angeles Times)

"America’s Best Dance Crew All Stars: Road to the VMAs" is the official name of the relaunched MTV dance competition show, and new judges and a new host have been announced for the special.

Hip-hop producer/performer T-Pain, G.O.O.D. Music recording artist Teyana Taylor and television and Broadway performer Frankie Grande -- brother to Ariana -- will judge the all-star season of  "ABDC," and "Entertainment Tonight" fixture Jason Dundas, who also hosted MTV's "Beyond Dance," will host the special that is now slated to premiere July 29.

Unlike the previous incarnation, "Randy Jackson's America's Best Dance Crew," which introduced new crews each season -- save for the final season, when popular crew Fanny Pack was invited back to compete -- the 2015 edition will feature dance crews from previous seasons of the competition series. The program will be themed, which was often the case from episode to episode, with six all-new Video Music Awards–centric episodes. Winners of the first seven seasons include the Jabbawockeez, Super Cr3w, Quest Crew, We Are Heroes, Poreotix, IamMe and the Elektrolytes.

"We so appreciate MTV's decision to bring back 'America's Best Dance Crew' for an 8th season. 'ABDC' is more than a TV show. It's a real life inspiration for millions of youthful followers," said Howard and Karen Schwartz, creators and executive producers of the show and founders of Hip Hop International, in a statement.

"The time spent off the air has refueled the talent and fan base alike. We can't wait to reintroduce 'ABDC' to those who loved it before and to a new generation who will love it going forward," said the Schwartzes.

The announcement came via MTV's upfront presentation today.

The show grew out of Hip Hop International's USA & World Hip Hop Dance Championships, which started in 2002 and will be held this year in San Diego in August.