To qualify for Medicare funding, the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services requires transplant centers to perform a certain number of transplants annually and achieve a specific unadjusted survival rate for patients one year after surgery. Transplant programs at the following hospitals failed to meet one or both of the standards.

Did fewer than the required 12 in 2005:

California: UC San Diego Medical Center, Sutter Memorial Hospital in Sacramento, Sharp Memorial Hospital in San Diego, St. Vincent Medical Center in Los Angeles

Connecticut: Hartford Hospital

Washington, D.C.: Washington Hospital Center

Florida: St. Luke's Hospital

Illinois: Rush University Medical Center, OSF St. Francis Medical Center

Indiana: Lutheran Hospital of Fort Wayne

Iowa: University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics

Kansas: Via Christi Regional Medical Center

Kentucky: University of Kentucky Medical Center

Louisiana: Tulane University Medical Center

Massachusetts: Massachusetts General Hospital

Michigan: Henry Ford Hospital

Minnesota: Abbot Northwestern Hospital

Missouri: St. Louis University Hospital

Mississippi: University of Mississippi Medical Center