Kings' Alec Martinez joins short list with Stanley Cup overtime work

There have been 17 players who scored an overtime goal to win the Stanley Cup. Only two have waited longer than Kings defenseman Alec Martinez.

Martinez’s series-winning goal in a 3-2 victory over the New York Rangers came 14 minutes 34 seconds into the second overtime

Uwe Krupp scored 4:31 into the third overtime to give Colorado a 1-0 victory over Florida in 1996.

Topping the list is Brett Hull, who scored 14:51 into the third overtime to beat Buffalo, 2-1, in 1999. Of course, there are many Sabres fans — well, all of them — who claim to this day claim that Hull was in the goaltender crease (something illegal that season).

Here are the top six Stanley Cup-winning overtime goal scorers, ranked in order of total game time:

—Brett Hull (Dallas) at Buffalo, 114:51, 1999
—Uwe Krupp (Colorado) at Florida 104:31, 1996
—Alec Martinez (Kings) vs. New York Rangers, 94:34, 2014
—Mush March (Chicago) vs. Detroit, 90:05, 1934
—Pete Babando (Detroit) vs. Rangers, 88:31, 1950
Jason Arnott (New Jersey) at Dallas, 88:20, 2000

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World