Cody Kessler, Hayes Pullard among six elected USC team captains

Cody Kessler, Hayes Pullard among six elected USC team captains
USC linebacker Hayes Pullard, shown during a workout session last month, is one of six team captains selected by USC players. (Jabin Botsford / Los Angeles Times)

USC has a set a school record before playing its first game of the season.

Quarterback Cody Kessler, center Max Tuerk, receiver Nelson Agholor, defensive lineman Leonard Williams, linebacker Hayes Pullard and cornerback Josh Shaw were elected team captains by players, Coach Steve Sarkisian announced Saturday night.

The six captains are the most in Trojans history.

USC’s football media guide lists captains for each season. Only two teams had as many as five.

Captains of the 1983 team coached by Ted Tollner: safety Tony Brewer, linebacker Jeff Brown, linebacker Keith Browner, tight end Fred Cornwell and center Tony Slaton.

Captains of the 2010 team coached by Lane Kiffin: quarterback Matt Barkley, fullback Stanley Havili, cornerback Shareece Wright and linebackers Michael Morgan and Malcolm Smith.

Sarkisian coached five seasons at Washington before he was hired by USC. The Huskies had four captains his first three seasons, five in 2013 and six last season.

USC opens Saturday against Fresno State.

Twitter: @latimesklein