ARTS & ENTERTAINMENTARTS & CULTURECulture Monster

Gustavo Dudamel conducting at Notre Dame cathedral in Paris

CultureArts and Culture

The historic Cathédrale Notre Dame in Paris will serve as a concert venue on Wednesday for Gustavo Dudamel, who will conduct a performance of Berlioz's "Requiem" with members of the Simon Bolivar Symphony Orchestra and l'Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France.

Wednesday's performance will be broadcast live online on Arte, and will be available for archival viewing for several weeks after. The concert is scheduled to begin at 9 p.m. Paris time, which is noon PST and 3 p.m. EST.

CRITICS' PICKS: What to watch, where to go, what to eat

Dudamel has dedicated the concert to the memory of conductor Claudio Abbado, who died earlier this week in Italy. The performance will feature the voices of le Chœur de Radio France and la Maîtrise Notre-Dame de Paris. 

Berlioz premiered his "Requiem" in 1837. The immense piece features 10 movements and has a typical running time of about 1 hour and 30 minutes.

Dudamel, who is music director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic, will next conduct at Walt Disney Concert Hall in a series of concerts starting Feb. 21 featuring music by Tchaikovsky.

ALSO:

Claudio Abbado, greatness beyond just a career

Super Bowl XLVIII: Renee Fleming to sing national anthem

Philip Glass discusses 'Visitors,' his most famous movie scores

MORE

PHOTOS: Hollywood stars on stage

CHEAT SHEET: Spring arts preview 2014

PHOTOS: Arts and culture in pictures

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times
Related Content
CultureArts and Culture
Comments
Loading