British Independent Film Awards names 'Metro Manila' best of year

British Independent Film Awards names 'Metro Manila' best of year
Sean Ellis' film "Metro Manila" was the big winner Sunday at the Moet British Independent Film Awards, winning best film, director for Ellis and achievement in productio (Jay L. Clendenin / Los Angeles Times)

"Metro Manila," a thriller about a poor farmer who moves his family from the rice fields of the northern Philippines to Manila in hopes of a better life, was the big winner Sunday evening in London at the Moët British Independent Film Awards, earning honors for best film, director for Sean Ellis and achievement in production.

James McAvoy was named lead actor for the crime comedy "Filth," and Lindsay Duncan won lead actress for the comedy-drama "Le Week-end."

Supporting actor honors went to Ben Mendelsohn for "Starred Up," and Imogene Poots won supporting actress for "The Look of Love."


Other awards:

Screenplay: Steven Knight for "Locke."

Documentary: "Pussy Riot: A Punk Prayer."

International Independent Film: "Blue Is the Warmest Color."

Douglas Hickox Award for debut feature: Paul Wright for "For Those in Peril."

Technical achievement: Amy Hubbard for casting "The Selfish Giant."

Special jury prize: Sixteen Films & Friends (the production team behind Ken Loach's films).

British short: "Z1."

Most promising newcomer: Chloe Pirrie, "Shell."

Raindance Award: "The Machine."

Julie Walters received the Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution to British film by an actor, and "Captain Phillips" director Paul Greengrass was the recipient of the Variety Award, which recognizes a director, actor, writer or producer who has helped to "focus the international spotlight on the U.K."

Actor James Nesbitt hosted the awards from the Old Billingsgate Market in London.