Costume Designers Guild announces 2015 nominees, honorees

Costume Designers Guild announces 2015 nominees, honorees
Michael Keaton in a scene from "Birdman." The film's costume designer, Albert Wolsky, was among the Costume Designers Guild Award nominees announced Jan. 7. (Atsushi Nishijima / Associated Press)

Organizers of the Costume Designers Guild Awards have announced the nominees in seven costume design categories and three additional honorees to be recognized at the group's 17th awards show gala on Feb. 17.

The list includes several costume designers who took home CDG trophies at last year's gala including Trish Summerville, nominated in the contemporary film category for her work on "Gone Girl" (in 2014 she won in the fantasy film category for "The Hunger Games: Catching Fire"); Ellen Mirojnick in the period/fantasy TV series category for her efforts on "The Knick" (she took home an award last year in the TV movie or miniseries category for "Behind the Candelabra"); and Tom Broecker, who is nominated, along with Eric Justian, for "Saturday Night Live." Broecker won last year for his efforts on "House of Cards."    

The CDG has also announced that director and screenwriter Richard Linklater will be honored with this year's distinguished collaborator award, costume designer Aggie Guerard Rodgers is set to receive an honorary career achievement award and the 2015 Edith Head award for the advancement of the art of costume design will be bestowed upon Deborah Nadoolman Landis.




Jan. 8, 10:19 a.m.: An earlier version of this article listed the costume designers nominated for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" as Bob Buck, Lesley Burkes-Harding and Ann Maskrey. The nominees are Bob Buck, Richard Taylor and Ann Maskrey.


The complete list of categories and nominees includes:


Excellence in contemporary film

"Birdman" - Albert Wolsky

"Boyhood" - Kari Perkins

"Gone Girl" - Trish Summerville


"Interstellar" - Mary Zophres

"Wild" – Melissa Bruning

Excellence in period film

"The Grand Budapest Hotel" - Milena Canonero

"The Imitation Game" - Sammy Sheldon Differ

"Inherent Vice" - Mark Bridges

"Selma" - Ruth E. Carter

"The Theory of Everything" - Steven Noble

Excellence in fantasy film

"Guardians of the Galaxy" - Alexandra Byrne

"The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies" - Bob Buck, Richard Taylor, Ann Maskrey

"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 1" - Kurt and Bart

"Into the Woods" - Colleen Atwood

"Maleficent" - Anna B. Sheppard, Jane Clive

Outstanding contemporary television series

"House of Cards" - Johanna Argan

"Ray Donovan" - Christopher Lawrence

"Saturday Night Live" - Tom Broecker, Eric Justian

"Scandal" - Lyn Paolo

"True Detective" - Jenny Eagan

Outstanding period/fantasy television series

"Boardwalk Empire" - John Dunn

"Game of Thrones" - Michele Clapton

"The Knick" - Ellen Mirojnick

"Mad Men" - Janie Bryant

"Masters of Sex" - Ane Crabtree

Outstanding made for television movie or miniseries

"American Horror Story: Freak Show" - Lou Eyrich

"Houdini" - Birgit Hutter

"The Normal Heart" - Daniel Orlandi

"Olive Kitteridge" - Jenny Eagan

"Sherlock" - Sarah Arthur

Excellence in commercial costume design

Army 'Defy Expectations, Villagers' - Christopher Lawrence

Direct TV "Less Attractive," with Rob Lowe - Mindy Le Brock, Jessica Albertson

Dos Equis "Most Interesting Man in the World Walks on Fire" - Julie Vogel

Kia Soul Hamster Commercial Featuring "Animals" - Anette Cseri

Smirnoff "The Mixologist" - Laura Jean Shannon

The winners will be announced at the annual CDGA gala at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Feb. 17.

For the latest in fashion and style news, follow me @ARTschorn