Food bracketology: Taco Madness returns to L.A.

Oregon or Oklahoma State? Tacos Tamix or Tacos Leo?

Oregon or Oklahoma State? Tacos Tamix or Tacos Leo? Surely not easy decisions, but surely decisions that will have to be made. Because, yes, not only is it March Madness, it’s also Taco Madness, the latter of which is L.A. Taco's annual online competition that pits some of the city’s best tacos against one another in a bracket-style tournament.

This is the seventh year of L.A. Taco's Taco Madness contest, but unlike previous years when some 32 taco spots vied for the winner’s trophy, there are only 16 this year "to make the voting process simpler and less overwhelming," according to the website. The smaller pool of competitors means that quite a few beloved taco joints, including last year's winner, El Coraloense, aren’t in contention this year. Alas.

For the sweet 16 who are in the tournament, you'll find that they’re organized roughly by ingredient. Thus mariscos experts Mariscos Jalisco and Coni’Seafood are facing off in the first round, and Tacos Punta Cabras is up against Ricky's Fish Tacos. In other brackets, asada and pork specialists will duke it out, and there’s a "wild card" category for places that don't fit neatly into any of the above. Good luck, in other words, choosing between Guerrilla Tacos and Colonia Taco Lounge.

The first round of voting ends on Sunday night. The winner of the entire tournament will be announced on April 4 at a party hosted by L.A. Taco and Red Bull LAX at Villain's Tavern in the Arts District; the party will feature tacos from Carnitas El Momo and Mexicali Tacos & Co., among others, plus cocktails and beers.  Tickets are $10 and can be purchased here.


Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World