They will not be getting a look at baseball's first "amphibious" pitcher, as one Oregon newspaper mistakenly called Venditte.
“He can pitch underwater!” Angels catcher
Venditte threw one inning against the Angels in
“I’m curious to see him,” said Angels shortstop
Under rules established specifically for Venditte, the pitcher must declare which arm he is going to throw with before an at-bat. If a team brings in a pinch-hitter, Venditte can switch arms because a new hitter has entered the game.
But if facing a switch-hitter such as Aybar, Venditte must decide what arm he's going to throw with before the at-bat and stick with it throughout the at-bat.
Aybar can then decide which side he will hit from. Venditte cannot switch arms during an at-bat.