Oregon State's Conforto, Fry named top Pac-12 baseball players

Oregon State dominates the Pac-12's postseason baseball awards

Oregon State dominated the Pac-12’s postseason baseball awards.

Outfielder Michael Conforto was named player of the year and Jace Fry was named pitcher of the year. Both were instrumental in the Beavers winning the conference title. Lindsay Meggs, who guided Washington to its first NCAA tournament appearance in 10 years, was named coach of the year.

UCLA pitchers David Berg and James Kaprielian and catcher Shane Zeile were named to the all-conference team.  USC pitchers Kyle Davis and Wyatt Strahan were also named to the team.

Conforto had a .364 batting average to lead the Pac-12. Fry had an 11-1 record.

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World