Pacific 10 to Hold Postseason Basketball Tournament Starting in 1987

The Pacific 10 Conference has voted to hold a postseason basketball tournament starting in 1987 at UCLA's Pauley Pavilion.

Presidents and chancellors of the member universities voted to adopt the plan Wednesday at their meeting in San Diego.

The tournament will be moved to a different site each year. All 10 teams will be involved, with the bottom four in the regular-season standings squaring off in the first round and the other six advancing to the second round.

The tournament winner will be the conference champion, with the regular season serving to determine tournament seedings only.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World