Junior Seau, Kurt Warner among nominees for Pro Football Hall of Fame

Junior Seau
The late Junior Seau is a nominee for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
(Charles Krupa / Associated Press)

Linebacker Junior Seau and quarterback Kurt Warner were among the 113 modern-era candidates nominated for the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

A total of 99 players and 14 coaches make up the list of 113 nominees, all of whom have been retired at least five seasons.

The selection committee will choose 25 candidates as semifinalists in late November. That list will be reduced to 15 modern-era finalists in early January. The 2015 class will be voted on the day before the Super Bowl.

Other familiar names on the list of 113: Morten Andersen, Steve Atwater, Tiki Barber, Jerome Bettis, Tim Brown, Isaac Bruce, Tedy Bruschi, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Roger Craig, Randall Cunningham, Tony Dungy, Tom Flores, Kevin Greene, Charles Haley, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Dexter Manley, Orlando Pace, Sterling Sharpe, Phil Simms, Greg Townsend and Herschel Walker.


Get our daily Sports Report newsletter