Food

Big Bear area hotels, vacation rentals info box

Dining and DrinkingTravelVacation and TimesharesHotel and Accommodation IndustryHotels and AccommodationsLifestyle and LeisureSixteen

Pali Mountain Retreat & Conference Center, 30778 State Route 18, Running Springs; (909) 867-5743, http://www.paliretreat.com. Retreat packages (open to groups of 25 or more) range from about $70 to $120 per person per night (including bunkhouse bed and cafeteria meals).

Rocky's Roadhouse, 32150 Hilltop Blvd., Running Springs; (909) 939-0501, http://www.facebook.com/RockysRoadhouseRS. Sandwiches and salads up to about $9. Patio in back.

Bear Mountain, http://www.bearmountain.com. In Big Bear Lake about 100 miles east of downtown Los Angeles.

Snow Summit, http://www.snowsummit.com. Bear Mountain's sibling and neighbor.

Snow Valley, http://www.snow-valley.com. In Running Springs, about 85 miles east of downtown Los Angeles.

Grizzly Manor Cafe, 41268 Big Bear Blvd., Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-6226, http://www.bigbearlake.net/Grizzly-Manor-Cafe. Breakfast and lunch, big servings, prices up to about $9.

Captain's Anchorage, 42148 Moonridge Road, Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-3997, http://www.captainsanchorage.com. Surf-and-turf available at dinner only. Main dishes about $19-$34.

Teddy Bear Restaurant, 583 Pine Knot Blvd., Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-5415, http://www.teddybearsrestaurant.com. Breakfast, lunch, dinner. Dinner main courses up to about $15.

Big Bear Alpine Zoo (formerly Moonridge Animal Park), 43285 Goldmine Drive, Big Bear Lake; (909) 878-4200, http://www.bigbearzoo.com. Open daily. Admission $9 for adult, $6 for children ages 3-10.

El Jacalito, 535 Pine Knot Ave., Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-3537, http://www.eljacalitogrill.com. Dinner main courses about $11-$17.

Sleepy Forest Cottages, 426 S. Eureka Drive, Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-7444, http://www.sleepyforest.com. Sixteen cottage units plus three houses, $139-$209 on weekends, $40-$60 less on weekdays.

Boulder Bay Park, 39148 State Route 18, Big Bear Lake. No phone. http://www.bigbearlake.net/lakes-trails-parks/Parks/Boulder-Bay-Park.

Big Bear Mountain Brewery, 40260 Big Bear Blvd., Big Bear Lake; (909) 866-2337, http://www.mountainbrewery.com  Beer, burgers, salads and sandwiches. Up to about $11.

Bowling Barn, 40625 Lakeview Drive, Big Bear Lake; (909) 878-2695, http://www.bowlingbarn.com. Sixteen lanes of all-weather fun.

The Inn at Fawnskin, 880 Canyon Road, Fawnskin; (888) 329-6754, http://www.fawnskininn.com. Log cabin B&B, five rooms, across the street from the north shore of Big Bear Lake. Rooms $235-$265 nightly, with one room at $165.

Captain John's Fawn Harbor & Marina, 39369 North Shore Drive, Fawnskin; (909) 866-6478, http://www.fawnharbor.com.

Big Bear Discovery Center, 40971 State Route 38 (North Shore Drive), Fawnskin; (909) 382-2790; http://www.nationalforestassociation.org/bigbeardiscoverycenter.php. Closed Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Info on local hiking, biking and the natural environment.

Alpine Pedal Path, north shore, Big Bear Lake between Stanfield Cutoff and solar observatory.

Stanfield Marsh boardwalk and wildlife preserve, Big Bear Boulevard and Stanfield Cutoff, no phone or website.

Lake Arrowhead Village, 28200 State Route 189, Lake Arrowhead; (909) 337-2533, http://www.lakearrowheadvillage.co. Restaurants, stores, a resort and other businesses at water's edge.

Saddleback Inn, 300 S. State Route 173, Lake Arrowhead; (800) 858-3334, http://www.saddlebackinn.com. Ten rooms, 24 cottages. Weekend rates usually $159-$215, more for holidays or multiple bedrooms, less for weekday nights.

Arrowhead Property Rental, 28200 State Highway 189, Lake Arrowhead; (909) 337-2403, http://www.arrowheadrent.com.

AAA Resort Rentals, 337 State Highway 173, Lake Arrowhead; (800) 743-0865 or (909) 337-4413, http://www.lakearrowheadrentals.com.

Mountain Mike's Custom Leather, 54360 1/2 N. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; http://www.mountainmikecustomleather.com.

Candy Cupboard, 54250 N. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; (951) 659-5502, http://www.facebook.com/candycupboard.

Café Aroma, 54750 N. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; (951) 659-5212, http://www.cafearoma.org. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner main dishes about $10-$24.

Idyllwild Arts Academy, 52500 Temecula Road, Idyllwild-Pine Cove; (951) 659-2171, http://www.idyllwildarts.org.

Humber Park, northeast end of Fern Valley Road, beyond 24400, Idyllwild;

http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/sbnf/recarea/?recid=26483

U.S. Forest Service San Jacinto Ranger District office, 54270 Pine Crest, Idyllwild; (909) 382-2921, .

Idyllwild Vacation Rentals, 54280 N. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; (951) 659-5015, http://www.idyllvacationrentals.com.

Fireside Inn, 54540 N. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; (951) 659-2966, http://www.thefiresideinn.com. 16 cabins and cottages, half near the middle of town, half on the edge, 15 with fireplaces and kitchens. Weekend rates $80-$210.

Rainbow Inn, 54420 S. Circle Drive, Idyllwild; (951) 659-0111, http://www.rainbow-inn.com. Five rooms. Weekend rates for two people usually $115-$155, about $20 lower on weeknights.

Palms to Pines Scenic Byway, 67 miles of winding mountain road (State Route 243 and State Route 74) connecting Banning, Idyllwild and Palm Desert. http://www.fs.usda.gov/recarea/sbnf/recarea/?recid=26521

 

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times
Related Content
Dining and DrinkingTravelVacation and TimesharesHotel and Accommodation IndustryHotels and AccommodationsLifestyle and LeisureSixteen
Comments
Loading