Jordan Clarkson finishes seventh in NBA rookie of the year voting

Jordan Clarkson garners two third-place votes and finishes seventh in rookie-of-the-year voting

Lakers guard Jordan Clarkson came in seventh in the voting for this season's NBA rookie of the year award.

On Thursday, the league announced Andrew Wiggins of the Minnesota Timberwolves as the winner of the award with 110 of 130 first-place votes.

Nikola Mirotic (Chicago Bulls) came in second, followed by Nerlens Noel (Philadelphia 76ers) and Elfrid Payton (Orlando Magic). Payton received a total of 51 first-, second- or third-place votes to place fourth overall.

Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics) received one second-place vote, along with three for third. Jusuf Nurkic (Denver Nuggets) earned a single second-place vote and finished sixth.

Clarkson placed right behind Nurkic with a pair of third-place votes.

Taken with the 46th pick in the 2014 NBA draft, Clarkson averaged 11.9 points, 3.5 assists and 3.2 rebounds a game this season, including 15.8 points, 5.0 assists and 4.2 rebounds a night in 38 starts.

Wiggins was the top pick in the draft, Smart sixth, Payton 10th and Nurkic 16th. Noel was the sixth overall pick in 2013 but missed the 2013-14 season with a knee injury. Mirotic was a 2011 selection (23rd overall) but played in Spain before joining the NBA this season.

Lakers rookie Julius Randle (seventh overall pick in 2014) missed almost the entire season after suffering a broken leg in the opener against the Houston Rockets.

Email Eric Pincus at and follow him on Twitter @EricPincus.

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World