Richard E. Grant

Motion picture academy invites 176 new members

Motion picture academy invites 176 new members

This post has been updated, as indicated below.

The  Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences invited 176 new members into the organization on Friday, including Octavia Spencer, Terrence Malick, Matthew McConaughey, Kristen Wiig, Kerry Washington, Will Packer, Wong Kar Wai and Michelle Yeoh.

A Los Angeles Times study published earlier this year found that academy voters are markedly less diverse than the moviegoing public and even more monolithic than many in the film industry may suspect. Oscar voters are nearly 94% Caucasian and 77% male, The Times found. Blacks are about 2% of the academy, and Latinos are less than 2%. Oscar voters have a median age of...

EDITION: California | U.S. & World