Rihanna, Sam Smith, Madonna to appear at iHeartRadio Music Awards

Rihanna, Sam Smith, Madonna to appear at iHeartRadio Music Awards
Rihanna performs during "DirecTV Super Saturday Night" in Glendale, Ariz. on Jan. 31 (Christopher Polk / Getty Images for DirecTV)

Rihanna, Iggy Azalea, Sam Smith, Madonna, Meghan Trainor and Kelly Clarkson are among the performers for the second edition of the iHeartRadio Music Awards.

The telecast, set to air March 29 on NBC and across iHeartMedia's stations and its digital music platform, is again to be recorded at the Shrine Auditorium.


The awards are to be hosted by actor/musician Jamie Foxx.

Foxx, Jason Derulo, Fun’s Nate Ruess, Alesso, Florida Georgia Line, Jason Aldean, Jennifer Hudson and Snoop Dogg are also expected to perform during the three-hour telecast. Taylor Swift is also to appear.

Last year, iHeartMedia (formerly known as Clear Channel) made its first bid to compete in the seemingly overcrowded landscape of awards telecasts that offer an alternative to the Grammys. The awards are voted on by fans.

iHeart's inaugural broadcast pulled in more than 5.5 million viewers, with 65 million votes logged across Facebook and Twitter to determine the night's winners.

Breakouts Azalea and Smith lead the nominations with five each, including artist of the year (Ariana Grande, Luke Bryan and Swift are also in the running). Grande and Swift follow with four nods.

This year’s ceremony is to feature the inaugural Renegade Award. The achievement recognizes “an emerging standout artist that defies convention and breaks boundaries” -- it’s also sponsored by a car manufacturer. Azalea, Trainor, Brantley Gilbert, Charli XCX and Hozier are up for the honor.

The iHeartRadio Music Awards ceremony is to air March 29 on NBC at 8 p.m. PST.

Full list of nominees below:

Artist of the year:
Ariana Grande
Iggy Azalea
Luke Bryan
Sam Smith
Taylor Swift

Song of the year:
"All About That Bass" - Meghan Trainor
"All of Me" - John Legend
"Happy" - Pharrell Williams
"Shake It Off" - Taylor Swift
"Stay With Me" - Sam Smith

"Bang Bang" - Jessie J + Ariana Grande + Nicki Minaj
"Dark Horse" - Katy Perry featuring Juicy J
"Fancy" - Iggy Azalea featuring Charli XCX
"Problem" - Ariana Grande featuring Iggy Azalea
"Talk Dirty" - Jason Derulo featuring 2 Chainz

New artist:
Cole Swindell
Iggy Azalea
Meghan Trainor
Sam Smith

Country song:
"Bartender" - Lady Antebellum
"Burnin' It Down" - Jason Aldean
"Dirt" - Florida Georgia Line
"Give Me Back My Hometown" - Eric Church
"Play It Again" - Luke Bryan

Hip-Hop/R&B song:
"Don't Tell 'Em" - Jeremih featuring YG
"Drunk in Love" - Beyoncé featuring Jay Z
"Flawless" - Beyoncé
"Loyal" - Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga
"New Flame" - Chris Brown featuring Usher and Rick Ross

Dance song:
"Animals" - Martin Garrix
"Blame" - Calvin Harris featuring John Newman
"La La La" - Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith
"Summer" - Calvin Harris
"Waves" - Mr. Probz

Alternative rock song:
"Come With Me Now" - KONGOS
"Do I Wanna Know?" - Arctic Monkeys
"Fever" - The Black Keys
"Something From Nothing" - Foo Fighters
"Take Me to Church" - Hozier

Best Lyrics:
"All of Me" - John Legend
"Blank Space" - Taylor Swift
"Counting Stars" - OneRepublic
"Habits (Stay High)" - Tove Lo
"Stay With Me" - Sam Smith
"Thinking Out Loud" - Ed Sheeran

Best Fan Army:
5SOSFAM - 5 Seconds of Summer
Arianators - Ariana Grande
Bey Hive - Beyoncé
Team Breezy - Chris Brown
Sheerios - Ed Sheeran
Church Choir - Eric Church
Directioners - One Direction
Selenators - Selena Gomez
Mendes Army - Shawn Mendes
Swifties - Taylor Swift

Brantley Gilbert
Charli XCX
Iggy Azalea
Meghan Trainor 

For more music news follow me on Twitter: @gerrickkennedy