Producers Guild of America announces nominees for television

Producers Guild of America announces nominees for television
Kit Harington in "Game of Thrones." The series garnereda Producers Guild of America nomination for outstanding producer of episodic television, drama. (Helen Sloan / HBO)

The Producers Guild of America on Tuesday announced its nominees for television series and specials for the 27th Annual Producers Guild Awards. The rest of the PGA nominations, including for film, will be announced Jan. 5, 2016.

The Producers Guild had an even hand this year when it came to cycling out repeat nominees and replacing them with fresh blood. Or, in the case of dramatic television, cycling in old nominees in lieu of new ones.


"Game of Thrones" and "House of Cards" were the only dramas to see repeat nominations from last year, with former winners "Mad Men" and "Homeland" returning to the fold. "Better Call Saul" grabbed the sole newcomer nomination for its debut season, easily sliding into the spot previously held by its predecessor, "Breaking Bad."

Comedies saw much more dramatic turnover, however, with only "Modern Family" and "Veep" repeating as nominees, welcoming "Inside Amy Schumer," "Silicon Valley" and "Transparent" to the category.

The 27th Producers Guild Awards will be handed out on January 23 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles. The complete list of announced nominees:

The Norman Felton Award for outstanding producer of episodic television, drama:

"Better Call Saul" (AMC)
Producers: Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Melissa Bernstein, Mark Johnson, Stewart A. Lyons, Thomas Schnauz, Gennifer Hutchison, Nina Jack, Diane Mercer, Bob Odenkirk

"Game of Thrones" (HBO)
Producers: David Benioff, D.B. Weiss, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, Bryan Cogman, Lisa McAtackney, Chris Newman, Greg Spence

"Homeland" (Showtime)
Producers: Alex Gansa, Alexander Cary, Lesli Linka Glatter, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Meredith Stiehm, Patrick Harbinson, Michael Klick, Claire Danes, Lauren White

"House of Cards" (Netflix)
Producers: Beau Willimon, Dana Brunetti, John David Coles, Josh Donen, David Fincher, Eric Roth, Kevin Spacey, Robert Zotnowski, Karen Moore

"Mad Men" (AMC)
Producers: Matthew Weiner, Scott Hornbacher, Janet Leahy, Semi Chellas, Erin Levy, Jon Hamm, Blake McCormick, Tom Smuts

The Danny Thomas Award for outstanding producer of episodic television, comedy:

"Inside Amy Schumer" (Comedy Central)
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility, and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.

"Modern Family" (ABC)
Producers: Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Jeff Morton, Jeffrey Richman, Brad Walsh, Danny Zuker, Vali Chandrasekaran, Megan Ganz, Elaine Ko, Kenny Schwartz, Chuck Tatham, Rick Wiener, Chris Smirnoff, Sally Young

"Silicon Valley" (HBO)
Producers: Mike Judge, Alec Berg, Jim Kleverweis, Clay Tarver, Dan O'Keefe, Michael Rotenberg, Tom Lassally

"Transparent" (Amazon)
Producers: Jill Soloway, Andrea Sperling, Victor Hsu, Nisha Ganatra, Rick Rosenthal, Bridget Bedard

"Veep" (HBO)
Producers: Armando Iannucci, Chris Addison, Simon Blackwell, Christopher Godsick, Stephanie Laing, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Frank Rich, Tony Roche, Kevin Cecil, Roger Drew, Sean Gray, Ian Martin, Georgia Pritchett, David Quantick, Andy Riley, Will Smith, Bill Hill

Producer of nonfiction television:

"30 for 30" (ESPN)
Producers: Connor Schell, John Dahl, Bill Simmons, Erin Leyden, Andrew Billman, Marquis Daisy, Libby Geist

"Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown" (CNN)
Producers: Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandra Zweig

"The Jinx: The Life and Deaths of Robert Durst" (HBO)
Producers: Marc Smerling, Andrew Jarecki, Jason Blum

"Shark Tank" (ABC)
Producers: Mark Burnett, Clay Newbill, Yun Lingner, Max Swedlow, Jim Roush, Brandon Wallace, Becky Blitz, Laura Roush, Shaun Polakow, Phil Gurin

"Vice" (HBO)
Producers: BJ Levin, Bill Maher, Eddy Moretti, Shane Smith, Jonah Kaplan, Tim Clancy, Ben Anderson, Shawn Killebrew

Producer of competition television:

"The Amazing Race" (CBS)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo

"Dancing with the Stars" (ABC)
Producers: Rob Wade, Ashley Edens-Shaffer, Joe Sungkur

"Project Runway" (Lifetime)
Producers: Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Desiree Gruber, Jane Cha, Heidi Klum, Tim Gunn, Teri Weideman

"Top Chef" (Bravo)
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility, and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.

"The Voice" (NBC)
Producers: Audrey Morrissey, Mark Burnett, John de Mol, Marc Jansen, Lee Metzger, Chad Hines, Jim Roush, Kyra Thompson, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

Producer of live entertainment and talk television:

"The Colbert Report" (Comedy Central)
Producers: Stephen T. Colbert, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart, Meredith Bennett, Barry Julien, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Paul Dinello, Matt Lappin

"Key & Peele" (Comedy Central)
Producers: This show is in the process of being vetted for producer eligibility, and a full list of nominees will be included in our next announcement.

"Last Week Tonight with John Oliver" (HBO)
Producers: Tim Carvell, John Oliver, Liz Stanton

"Real Time with Bill Maher" (HBO)
Producers: Bill Maher, Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Billy Martin, Dean E. Johnsen, Matt Wood

"The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon" (NBC)
Producers: Lorne Michaels, Jamie Granet Bederman, Katie Hockmeyer, Jim Juvonen, Brian McDonald, Josh Lieb, Gavin Purcell

Children's program:

"Doc McStuffins" (Disney Junior)

"The Fairly OddParents" (Nickelodeon)

"Octonauts" (Disney Junior)

"Sesame Street" (PBS)

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" (Nickelodeon)

"Toy Story That Time Forgot" (ABC)

Follow me on Twitter at @midwestspitfire.