Wichita State's Gregg Marshall chosen coach of the year

Gregg Marshall, who led Wichita State to a 35-1 record and a No. 1 seeding in the NCAA tournament, has been selected as the recipient of the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, presented by the U.S. Basketball Writers Assn.

Marshall, 51, led the Shockers to the Missouri Valley Conference regular-season and tournament titles. For the fifth straight season, the Shockers won at least 25 games and Marshall's mark at Wichita State is 174-71.

The Shockers, who were ranked No. 2 in the final Associated Press poll, were eliminated by eighth-seeded Kentucky on Sunday.


Dayton Coach Archie Miller has signed a contract extension that runs through the 2018-19 season, the university announced. Financial terms were not disclosed.

The Flyers are in the NCAA tournament's round of 16 for the first time in 30 years. They play Stanford on Thursday in the South Regional in Memphis, Tenn.

Miller and the university agreed to the extension in February, but at the request of Miller, it was not announced until Monday.

Houston Coach James Dickey said he is stepping down after four seasons with the Cougars because of "a family matter that requires my time and energy."

Dickey just completed the fourth season of a five-year contract with Houston. He coached Texas Tech from 1991-2001 and replaced Tom Penders at Houston in 2010. Dickey has a career record of 217-196.

North Carolina State forward T.J. Warren has decided to leave school and make himself available for the NBA draft, Yahoo Sports reported.

Warren, a 6-foot-8 sophomore, averaged 24.9 points and 7.1 rebounds per game this season for the Wolfpack.

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World