"After further consideration, as well as conversations with the commissioner's office, the A's have decided to drop the protest from last night's game," the team said in a statement. "We have determined that, as stated after the game by the crew chief, Gerry Davis, the call in question was a judgment call and not worthy of pursuing further."
With the score tied, 3-3, in the bottom of the ninth, Angels shortstop
Otero applied the tag to Aybar and held onto the ball, but home-plate umpire Greg Gibson ruled that Moss had obstructed Aybar and awarded the Angels shortstop first base.
"He had nowhere to go," Angels Manager Mike Scioscia said of Aybar. "The fielder has a right to get the ball, but he doesn't have the right to block the runner's path."
Moss and the Athletics contended that Aybar was not in the baseline when he collided with Otero and that the runner should have been out.
According to baseball's rule book, obstruction occurs when "a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner." Otero had the ball in his glove when Aybar collided with him.