Crickets, Comets, Flames, 3 other bands will enter Rock Hall of Fame


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Let’s hear it for the band.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has decided to induct six bands whose high-profile leaders previously made it into the hall individually, in recognition of the critical role those musicians played in the history of pop music.

Buddy Holly’s Crickets, Bill Haley’s Comets, James Brown’s Famous Flames, Gene Vincent’s Blue Caps, Hank Ballard’s Midnighters and Smokey Robinson’s Miracles will join their frontmen as full-fledged members of the Hall of Fame at this year’s induction ceremony, slated for April 14 in Cleveland.


“These inductees are pioneers in the development of the music we call rock and roll,” Joel Peresman, president and chief executive of the Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a statement issued Thursday. “As part of our mission to recognize the most impactful, innovative and influential artists in rock, the committee brought forth these six groups that belong in the Hall of Fame.”

They’ll be feted along with previously announced 2012 inductees: the Beastie Boys, Donovan, Guns N’ Roses, Laura Nyro, Red Hot Chili Peppers, the Small Faces/the Faces and Freddie King, along with nonperformer inductees Don Kirshner, Cosimo Matassa, Tom Dowd and Glyn Johns.

The Rock Hall previously attempted to address the band member issue starting in 2000 with the addition of a “Sideman” category, which subsequently brought in Elvis Presley’s original guitarist Scotty Moore (but not bassist Bill Black) and Chuck Berry’s old boss Johnnie Johnson as well as stellar session and touring musicians including James Burton, King Curtis, Earl Palmer, Hal Blaine and James Jamerson.


Guns N’ Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers among Rock Hall inductees

Flea on Chili Peppers’ induction to Rock Hall: ‘It’s very emotional’


Critic’s notebook: Rock Hall honors the yin and yang of Los Angeles rock

-- Randy Lewis