Mary-Louise Parker, John Leguizamo join Tony nominating committee

(Frazer Harrison / Getty Images)

Mary-Louise Parker, John Leguizamo and Cheyenne Jackson will be among the new faces joining the nominating committee for next year’s Tony Awards. The committee decides on the Tony nominees by seeing all of the productions for the season and then voting for the various categories.

The committee’s new members will also include playwright Rick Elice, composer Adam Guettel, author and journalist John Darnton, choreographer Donald Byrd, projection designer Wendall K. Harrington and costume designer Ann Hould-Ward.

In all, the Tony nominating committee will have 42 members. Parker received a Tony in 2001 for her role in the play “Proof.” Leguizamo received Tony nominations for his show “Freak” in 1998.

This year’s Tony Awards, held on June 10, saw the musical “Once” and the play “Clybourne Park” take home top honors. The awards for revivals went to “Death of a Salesman” and “The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess.”



Tony Awards 2012: For ‘Once’ daring trumps commerce

Tony Awards telecast, in continued decline, slides toward lows

Tony Awards 2012: ‘Clybourne Park’ by Bruce Norris wins best play