Pac-12 media day: Expanded event begins with commissioner's address

Pac-12 media day: Expanded event begins with commissioner's address
Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott at a news conference in San Francisco on Oct. 21, 2011. (Paul Sakuma / Associated Press)

The Pac-12 Conference’s annual preseason football media gabfest, which begins Wednesday morning, has been expanded from one day to two.

That’s still only half as long as the four-day Southeastern Conference marathon.

The Pac-12 event also has rotated to yet another stop on what has become a Hollywood studio tour.

For years, media day was held at a hotel near Los Angeles International Airport But it has since been staged at the Fox, Universal and Sony Pictures studios. On Wednesday and Thursday, head coaches and select players will hold court at the studios of Paramount Pictures.

Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott, who has strived to give the conference a higher national profile, is set to open the event with his annual address.

New USC Coach Steve Sarkisian, Trojans quarterback Cody Kessler and defensive lineman Leonard Williams are scheduled to address the media on Wednesday.

UCLA Coach Jim Mora, Bruins quarterback Brett Hundley and linebacker Eric Kendricks are scheduled for Thursday.

Here is Wednesday's schedule:


9 a.m.: Scott.

9:30 a.m.: Arizona Coach Rich Rodriguez, receiver Austin Hill  and safety Jared Tevis.

10:10 a.m.: California Coach Sonny Dykes, quarterback Jared Goff and cornerback Stefan McClure.

10:50 a.m.: Sarkisian, Kessler and Williams.

11:30 a.m.: Oregon Coach Mark Helfrich, quarterback Marcus Mariota and linebacker Derrick Malone.

12:10 p.m.: Washington State Coach Mike Leach, quarterback Connor Halliday and linebacker Darryl Monroe.

12:50 p.m.: Utah Coach Kyle Whittingham, receiver Dres Anderson and defensive end Nate Orchard.

Thursday's schedule:

9:30 a.m.: Arizona State Coach Todd Graham, quarterback Taylor Kelly and offensive lineman Jamil Douglas.

10:10 a.m.: Oregon State Coach Mike Riley, quarterback Sean Mannion and linebacker Michael Doctor.

10:50 a.m.: Mora, Hundley and Kendricks.

11:30 a.m.: Washington Coach Chris Petersen, offensive tackle Ben Riva and linebacker Hau’oli Kikaha.

12:10 p.m.: Stanford Coach David Shaw, quarterback Kevin Hogan and defensive back Jordan Richards.

12:50 p.m.: Colorado Coach Mike MacIntyre, receiver Nelson Spruce and defensive tackle Juda Parker.

Twitter: @latimesklein