Trump wanted to fire women who weren't pretty enough, say employees at his California golf club

Dodgers are frontrunner to win another NL West crown

Dodgers picked to win third consecutive NL West title


1. Dodgers

2014: 94-68, first place. Last year in playoffs: 2014.

Clayton Kershaw and Zack Greinke are two of the three highest-paid players in the majors. Beyond them, the starting rotation of the best-paid team in sports history appears vulnerable. If the Dodgers get Hyun-Jin Ryu and closer Kenley Jansen back in May, they should be in good shape — this is a team that made up a 9 1/2-game deficit in each of the last two seasons. The last team to win the NL West three consecutive years — the Atlanta Braves, 1991-93 — now resides in the NL East.

SS J. Rollins

RF Y. Puig

1B A. Gonzalez

2B H. Kendrick

C Y. Grandal

LF C. Crawford

3B J. Uribe

CF J. Pederson

Starting rotation

LH C. Kershaw

RH Z. Greinke

LH H. Ryu*

RH B. McCarthy

LH B. Anderson


RH K. Jansen*

2. San Diego Padres

2014: 77-85, third place. Last year in playoffs: 2006.

The Padres' opening-day outfield last year — Tommy Medica, Will Venable and Chris Denorfia — combined to hit 18 home runs — or one more than Matt Kemp hit in the second half. The Padres could be vulnerable to hard-throwing right-handers; every starter but Yonder Alonso and Alexi Amarista bats right-handed. If the Padres do not rank in the NL top 10 in runs scored for the first time since 2007 — Manager Bud Black's first season — this could be Black's last season .

CF W. Myers

1B Y. Alonso

RF M. Kemp

LF J. Upton

3B W. Middlebrooks

2B J. Gyorko

C D. Norris

SS A. Amarista


RH J. Shields

RH T. Ross

RH A. Cashner

RH I. Kennedy

RH B. Morrow


RH J. Benoit

3. Colorado Rockies

2014: 66-96, fourth place. Last year in playoffs: 2009.

You've heard the line: If Troy Tulowitzki and Carlos Gonzalez can just stay healthy … The Rockies' franchise players have never each had 500 at-bats in the same season. In the first two months last season, when both were healthy, the Rockies had a run differential of plus-28. In the next two months, when Gonzalez was injured and then Tulowitzki, the run differential was minus-84. Nolan Arenado is the division's only star third baseman, Corey Dickerson hit 24 home runs last year, and the Rockies just might slug their way into a wild-card race.

CF C. Blackmon

LF C. Dickerson

SS T. Tulowitzki

LF C. Gonzalez

3B N. Arenado

1B J. Morneau

C N. Hundley

2B D. LeMahieu


LH J. De La Rosa

RH J. Lyles

LH T. Matzek

RH K. Kendrick

RH C. Bettis


RH L. Hawkins

4. Arizona Diamondbacks

2014: 64-98, fifth place. Last year in playoffs: 2011.

The Diamondbacks are defiantly old school, run by men with a history of on-field success but little experience in the front office: chief baseball officer Tony La Russa and General Manager Dave Stewart. They spent $68.5 million on Cuban slugger Yasmany Tomas — more than the Chicago White Sox spent on star first baseman Jose Abreu — but Tomas did not make the team. Arizona has the best bargain in baseball: Paul Goldschmidt, the top pure hitter in the NL, who would have been eligible for arbitration but for a long-term contract that pays him $3 million this year.

CF A. Pollock

2B C. Owings

1B P. Goldschmidt

LF D. Peralta

RF M. Trumbo

3B J. Lamb

SS N. Ahmed

C T. Gosewich


RH J. Collmenter

RH R. De La Rosa

RH J. Hellickson

RH A. Bradley

RH C. Anderson


RH A. Reed

5. San Francisco Giants

2014: 88-74, second place, World Series champions. Last year in playoffs: 2014.

Dodgers rookie Joc Pederson hit six home runs in the Cactus League. The Giants' projected opening-day lineup hit six combined. That the Giants have no power — even with Hunter Pence due back in a few weeks — would not be damning for a team with good pitching. The Giants have World Series MVP Madison Bumgarner and a bunch of dubious thirty-somethings: Matt Cain (8.22 Cactus League ERA), Jake Peavy and Tim Hudson (last seen routed in the Series) and the long-fading Tim Lincecum.

CF A. Pagan

2B J. Panik

C B. Posey

1B B. Belt

RF H. Pence*

3B C. McGehee

LF N. Aoki

SS B. Crawford


LH M. Bumgarner

RH J. Peavy

RH M. Cain

RH T. Hudson

RH T. Lincecum


RH S. Casilla

Copyright © 2016, Los Angeles Times