Cristiano Ronaldo wins FIFA Ballon d'Or award for third time

Real Madrid and Portugal soccer star Cristiano Ronaldo wins the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or award

Cristiano Ronaldo won the FIFA Ballon d'Or award for 2014 on Monday, earning the title of world's best football player for a third time.

He beat Germany goalkeeper Manuel Neuer and four-time winner Lionel Messi in a vote of national team captains and coaches from FIFA's 209 member countries, plus selected journalists.

“I want to become one of the greatest players of all time,” Ronaldo said through a translator in his acceptance speech. “Of course, this requires a lot of effort and I hope to get there.”

Messi finished second in the voting, with Neuer third.

Ronaldo retained football's highest individual honor after scoring 61 goals for Real Madrid and Portugal last year. His record tally of 17 in a Champions League season helped his club win an unprecedented 10th European Cup title — and overshadowed a relatively disappointing World Cup campaign.

Ronaldo was more composed for this widely expected victory than during his tearful speech one year ago when ending Messi's four-year reign. He first won the award for 2008 as a Manchester United player.

“It has been an unforgettable year,” Ronaldo said after taking a deep breath.

Joachim Loew was voted coach of the year for guiding the German national team to its first World Cup title since 1990, and first major trophy in 18 years.

Germany midfielder Nadine Kessler beat two former winners — United States forward Abby Wambach and Marta of Brazil — to be named the best women's player in 2014.

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World