BOOKS

BOOKS

More than 600 American authors are trying to stop Trump

Donald Trump might have captured the imaginations of millions of Americans, but it turns out that authors are a tougher sell for the presumptive Republican presidential nominee. More than 600 American writers, including Stephen King, Junot Diaz, Cheryl Strayed and Dave Eggers, have signed an "open...

FESTIVAL OF BOOKS

view more

BOOK REVIEWS: WHAT TO READ

view more

MORE FROM BOOKS

  • Lit pick of the week: Bad advice from bad women

    Lit pick of the week: Bad advice from bad women

    On Friday evening, downtown L.A.'s bibliophile mecca The Last Bookstore will host a group of outspoken women reading from their works that range from off the wall to unbelievable. Kathleen Hale, the YA author who wrote about her encounter with a one-star reviewer in the essay  Am I Being Catfished?...

  • Isabel Allende will receive PEN Center USA's lifetime achievement award

    Isabel Allende will receive PEN Center USA's lifetime achievement award

    Isabel Allende, the celebrated Chilean American author of novels including "The House of the Spirits" and "Island Beneath the Sea," will be awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from PEN Center USA, the West Coast version of PEN, at its annual literary awards dinner in September. Allende, who...

  • Chef Eric Ripert on his revealing new memoir '32 Yolks'

    Chef Eric Ripert on his revealing new memoir '32 Yolks'

    Since opening in 1986, Le Bernardin in New York City has been one of the most lauded restaurants in the world, and its chef, Eric Ripert, who has helmed the kitchen for the past 25 years, one of the most well-liked and respected chefs in the industry.  His memoir, "32 Yolks" (Random House: 256...

  • Lena Dunham surprises fans with new book containing excerpts from her diary

    Lena Dunham surprises fans with new book containing excerpts from her diary

    For most people, the thought of strangers reading their diary entries from their teenage years would be beyond mortifying. But Lena Dunham is not that kind of girl. The actress and star of the HBO show "Girls" surprised her fans Tuesday by announcing the release of "Is It Evil Not to Be Sure?"...

  • J.K. Rowling defends 'offensive and bigoted' Donald Trump's free speech

    J.K. Rowling defends 'offensive and bigoted' Donald Trump's free speech

    "Harry Potter" creator J.K. Rowling is no fan of Donald Trump. The author has gone so far as to compare him — unfavorably — to Lord Voldemort, the archvillain of her famous series of books. But Rowling is more offended by threats to free speech than she is by the presumptive Republican presidential...

  • ESSAY: What you don't know about Gabriel Garcia Marquez

    ESSAY: What you don't know about Gabriel Garcia Marquez

    When Gabriel García Márquez died in April 2014, Colombia's president, Juan Manuel Santos Calderón, declared three days of national grieving, citing the Nobel laureate as the “most loved and most admired compatriot of all times.” But the feelings in his hometown were a bit different.     “He isn’t...

  • 5 new books not to be missed

    5 new books not to be missed

    Five new books people are talking about, from the editors of the National Book Review. 1."The Bridge Ladies: A Memoir" by Betsy Lerner (Harper Wave: 320 pp., $25.99) Bridge, the card game, proves to be an apt metaphor for connection in this memoir about five Jewish ladies who have been playing...

  • What is Mexcellent? Let Enrique Garcia Naranjo explain

    What is Mexcellent? Let Enrique Garcia Naranjo explain

    Late-night cruise down South 12th, stereo bumping "Forever Written" by Combine Vibes, and I’m on my way to eat tacos de tripas. Tonight I’m planting myself at Tacos Apson, named after the 1960s Mexican rock 'n' roll outfit of the same name. The spot is pinnacle Southside Mexcellence — equal parts...

  • Katherine Dunn has died; the 'Geek Love' author once took the world by storm

    Katherine Dunn has died; the 'Geek Love' author once took the world by storm

    Katherine Dunn, famous for her 1989 novel "Geek Love," died Thursday at home in Portland, Ore., her son told Willamette Weekly. Dunn, 70, died from complications from lung cancer. The book, which told the story of a house full of circus sideshow performers, was a finalist for the National Book...

  • Mark de Silva talks about his novel 'Square Wave,' a paean to process

    Mark de Silva talks about his novel 'Square Wave,' a paean to process

    “Nothing is perfect,” Mark de Silva writes in his debut novel, “Square Wave.” “And no process, not at all, is really, truly stable.” In other words, progress is a myth, process our reality. Process — unstable, imperfect — is the true movement of the universe, a vacillation between zenith and nadir...

  • George R.R. Martin posts a chapter of 'Winds of Winter' online (but the book's still not done)

    George R.R. Martin posts a chapter of 'Winds of Winter' online (but the book's still not done)

    Winter is coming. One small snowflake at a time. Fans of George R.R. Martin's "A Song of Ice and Fire" novels, which form the basis for the hit HBO show "Game of Thrones," have been waiting for the sixth book in the series, "The Winds of Winter," for a very long time. While there is not yet a release...

  • Now Ann Coulter likes Donald Trump so much she's writing a book, 'In Trump We Trust'

    Now Ann Coulter likes Donald Trump so much she's writing a book, 'In Trump We Trust'

    Ann Coulter has never been one to shy away from controversy. The conservative author has urged America to bring back literacy tests and poll taxes for voters, referred to Muslims with a racist slur, and has suggested that soccer brings about "moral decay." So on the one hand, it's not surprising...

  • School principal: 'Harry Potter' and 'Lord of the Rings' cause brain damage

    School principal: 'Harry Potter' and 'Lord of the Rings' cause brain damage

    Can reading "Harry Potter," "The Hunger Games" and "The Lord of the Rings" cause brain damage in children? The principal of a British private school says yes. In a lengthy blog post that went viral over the weekend, Graeme Whiting, the headmaster of the Acorn School in the English town of Nailsworth,...

  • Growing up is hard to do in 'Amateurs'

    Growing up is hard to do in 'Amateurs'

    Toward the end of "Amateurs," the second novel from Dylan Hicks, two friends are discussing the literary success of an acquaintance, an author who lacked confidence in his writing ability when they knew him in college. "Goes to show.... That sometimes the thing you're most afraid of is the thing...

  • This poem sums up Los Angeles perfectly

    This poem sums up Los Angeles perfectly

    Los Angeles’ poet laureate needs to make a small confession about our city. “I have a love/hate relationship with L.A.” says Luis J. Rodriguez.  No one is more qualified than Rodriguez to make that assessment. Los Angeles and its poet laureate have a history. He started in Watts, moved to the San...

Loading
58°