Boys' basketball: Fairfax (10-0) wins tournament title behind Lorne Currie

Fairfax Coach Harvey Kitani said weeks ago he truly liked his team, and after the first month of the season, his instincts have proven correct. The Lions ended 2014 with a 10-0 record won their division championship in the Torrey Pines tournament on Tuesday with a 56-51 win over No. 1-ranked Redondo.

Fairfax put together a third-quarter surge to overcome a halftime deficit. Lorne Currie was named tournament MVP and finished with 20 points and 12 rebounds. All-tournament selection Lindsey Drew had 12 points and Donald Gipson added 11 points. Redondo played without Billy Preston, who had been ejected in the semifinals. Leland Green led Redondo with 22 points.


St. Patrick defeated Corona Centennial, 68-39, in the third-place game.

Sonora won its division with a 71-60 win over Georgia Faith Baptist. Ben Rico scored 25 points and tournament MVP Josh Rodriguez had 19 points. Torrey Pines defeated Lawndale, 44-36. Mira Costa defeated Washington Roosevelt, 64-58. Poway defeated Aliso Niguel, 63-48. Cantwell-Sacred Heart defeated Santa Monica, 57-46, with Gligorije Rakocevic scoring 29 points.

Windward defeated Westchester, 40-36. Bellevue defeated Loyola, 68-61. Josh Lavergne had 22 points for Loyola (8-4). Taft defeated Temecula Valley, 50-48. Damian Wilson had 17 points. Crespi lost to St. Augustine, 59-56, in overtime. De'Anthony Melton had 15 points. Oak Park defeated Mayfair, 68-54. Freshman Riley Battin had 33 points and Michael Alvarez 21 points.

In the MaxPreps tournament, Sierra Canyon pulled out a 67-66 win over Pebblebrook in its division championship game when Devearl Ramsey made two free throws with less than one second left on a controversial foul call.

North (12-0) stayed unbeaten with a 70-61 win over Edison to win its division championship behind guard Dikymbe Martin. Santa Ana Mater Dei defeated Etiwanda, 54-41. Rex Pflueger had 22 points.

Alex Copeland scored 32 points and Wolfgang Novogratz 27 points but Harvard-Westlake fell to Nevada Foothill, 77-76.  Beverly Hills won its division with a 49-38 win over Germany Urspring. Chance Comanche was tournament MVP. Ountae Campbell was tournament MVP, scoring 16 points in Brentwood's 73-42 win over Washington Foss. Maxwell Kupchak had 29 points.

Bekim Djovic scored 39 points in Mission Viejo's 58-55 loss to Palm Springs. Capistrano Valley defeated Simi Valley, 58-53. Jeremy Hemsley had 27 points in Damien's 67-57 win over Wisconsin King. Alemany lost to Moreau, 64-60. Viewpoint won its division title with a 54-47 win over Crescenta Valley. Christian Juzang had 16 points. Miye Oni was named tournament MVP.

In the La Salle tournament, Bishop Montgomery won the championship game with a 61-55 victory over De La Salle. Stephen Thompson Jr. was named tournament MVP. Campbell Hall won the third-place game with a 69-58 win over Village Christian. Aaron Holiday scored 31 points. Kahlil Simplis led Village Christian with 21 points.

Sherman Oaks Notre Dame defeated Long Beach Millikan, 81-71. Chibueze Jackson had 19 points for the Knights (8-5). Price defeated West Ranch, 87-61. San Marcos defeated Calabasas, 60-57, in overtime. Justin Bessard had 21 points for the Coyotes. Lakeside defeated El Camino Real, 57-47. Palisades defeated Highland, 70-67. Desert Pines defeated South Pasadena, 69-57.

In the Katella tournament, Servite won the championship with a 62-58 win over Fullerton. Freshman Brendan Harrick had 24 points and tournament MVP Trevor Treinen added 20 points.

In the Orange tournament, Orange Lutheran won the championship with a 57-43 win over La Mirada. Rogers Printup was named MVP. Foothill claimed third place with a 58-52 overtime win over Anaheim Canyon.

In the Tustin tournament, Burbank Burroughs defeated Temescal Canyon, 54-53. Chris Hovasapian had 17 points.

In the Santa Barbara tournament, Thousand Oaks won the championship game with a 71-70 win over Santa Barbara. Tournament MVP Matt Hauser scored 24 points. North Hollywood received 26 points from Sean Fernandez in a 73-44 win over Canoga Park. Glendora defeated Newbury Park, 67-58. Vince Klein scored 18 points for Newbury Park. Flintridge Prep defeated Nordhoff, 58-43.

In the Chaminade tournament, the host Eagles won the title over Valencia, 73-55. Tournament MVP Michael Oguine finished with 30 points. Jake Porath added 20 points. Oaks Christian defeated Mercer Island, 52-46. Birmingham won the consolation title, defeating Golden Valley, 67-52. Serigne Athj had 28 points.


In the San Gabriel Valley championship, St. Francis defeated Ayala, 64-56. Michael Ibarra, who scored 24 points, was tournament MVP. Sylmar defeated Upland, 68-63, with CJ Williams scoring 15 points and receiving all-tournament recognition.

In the Ventura tournament, Westlake won the championship with a 61-55 victory over Oxnard. Michael Hayon was tournament MVP. Isaiah Brooks had 16 points. Ventura defeated Canyon, 56-53, for third place.

In the Hart tournament, Caleb Grisanti had 26 points in Saugus' 80-66 win over Camarillo for third place.

In the San Pedro tournament, Narbonne (11-3) won the championship with a 75-71 win over Rancho Dominguez. Jamal Hicks scored 23 points and was named tournament MVP. Gardena defeated San Pedro, 59-40.

In the Covina tournament, Bonita defeated Cajon, 56-40.

Trabuco Hills defeated Alhambra, 58-49, with Aaron Harris tying a school record with 39 points. He made 17 of 21 shots.