The Nation

Despite evidence that desegregation plans have failed at colleges and universities in 10 states, federal officials are refusing to impose sanctions on states that violate civil rights laws, a House report said. The report said internal notes from the Education Department's Office of Civil Rights "describe failures of the states to eliminate the vestiges of illegal discrimination. Further enforcement actions by OCR are clearly required." The states in question are Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World