U.S. travel warnings and advisories

The State Department is warning Americans to avoid travel to these countries:

Afghanistan; Algeria; Angola; Bosnia-Herzegovina; Burundi; Central African Republic; Colombia; Congo-Kinshasa; Indonesia; Iran; Iraq; Israel, the West Bank and Gaza; Ivory Coast; Jordan; Lebanon; Liberia; Libya; Macedonia; Nigeria; Pakistan; Somalia; Sudan; Tajikistan; Venezuela; and Yemen.

On its list of areas that currently pose “significant risks or disruptions to Americans” are Argentina, East Africa, East Timor, India, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Malaysia, Nepal, the Philippines, Solomon Islands, Southeast Asia, Tanzania, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, and the Middle East and North Africa.

A worldwide caution issued in November remains in effect. It warns Americans to remain alert against possible terrorist threats and advises Americans to avoid official U.S. facilities and places where Americans or other Westerners generally gather, such as restaurants, clubs, places of worship, schools, hotels, outdoor recreation events, resorts and beaches.

American citizens could also be targeted for kidnapping or assassination, the State Department warning says.

For more information, check the State Department’s Web site