2011 Hugo Award nominees announced


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Nominations for 2011 Hugo Awards, which are among the highest honors bestowed in science fiction and fantasy writing, were announced at a conference held during Easter weekend. Finalists will be announced at a ceremony in August.

More than 1,000 nominating ballots were counted, for finalists in diverse categories that include novella, short form editor, fan writer and related work (which includes the fantastic title, ‘Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It,’ edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea). Members of Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction Convention, will vote on the winners.


2011 Hugo Award finalists in the major category of novel are Connie Willis’ ‘Blackout/All Clear,’ Lois McMaster Bujold’s ‘Cryoburn,’ Ian McDonald’s ‘The Dervish House,’ Mira Grant’s ‘Feed’ and N.K. Jemisin’s ‘The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms.’ Films that were honored with dramatic presentation, long form nominations are ‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Part 1,’ ‘How to Train your Dragon,’ ‘Inception,’ ‘Scott Pilgrim vs. The World’ and ‘Toy Story 3.’

The complete list of finalists is after the jump.

2011 Hugo Award nominees

‘Blackout/All Clear’ by Connie Willis (Ballantine Spectra)
‘Cryoburn’ by Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
‘The Dervish House’ by Ian McDonald (Gollancz; Pyr)
‘Feed’ by Mira Grant (Orbit)
‘The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms’ by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

“The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queen’s Window” by Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Magazine, Summer 2010)
‘The Lifecycle of Software Objects’ by Ted Chiang (Subterranean)
“The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon” by Elizabeth Hand (Stories: All New Tales, William Morrow)
“The Sultan of the Clouds” by Geoffrey A. Landis (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Troika” by Alastair Reynolds (Godlike Machines, Science Fiction Book Club)

“Eight Miles” by Sean McMullen (Analog, September 2010)
“The Emperor of Mars” by Allen M. Steele (Asimov’s, June 2010)
“The Jaguar House, in Shadow” by Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s, July 2010)
“Plus or Minus” by James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s, December 2010)
“That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made” by Eric James Stone (Analog, September 2010)

Short Story
“Amaryllis” by Carrie Vaughn (Lightspeed, June 2010)
“For Want of a Nail” by Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s, September 2010)
“Ponies” by Kij Johnson (, November 17, 2010)
“The Things” by Peter Watts (Clarkesworld, January 2010)

Related Work
‘Bearings: Reviews 1997-2001,’ by Gary K. Wolfe (Beccon)
‘The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing,’ by Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg (McFarland)
‘Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It,’ edited by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O’Shea (Mad Norwegian)
‘Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve,’ by William H. Patterson, Jr. (Tor)
‘Writing Excuses, Season 4,’ by Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, Dan Wells

Graphic Story
‘Fables: Witches,’ written by Bill Willingham; illustrated by Mark Buckingham (Vertigo)
‘Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse,’ written by Phil and Kaja Foglio; art by Phil Foglio; colors by Cheyenne Wright (Airship Entertainment)
‘Grandville Mon Amour,’ by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)
‘Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel,’ written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton (Hypernode)
‘The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man,’ written by Mike Carey; illustrated by Peter Gross (Vertigo)

Dramatic Presentation, Long Form
‘Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1,’ screenplay by Steve Kloves; directed by David Yates (Warner)
‘How to Train Your Dragon,’ screenplay by William Davies, Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders (DreamWorks)
‘Inception,’ written and directed by Christopher Nolan (Warner)
‘Scott Pilgrim vs. the World,’ screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; directed by Edgar Wright (Universal)
‘Toy Story 3,’ screenplay by Michael Arndt; story by John Lasseter, Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; directed by Lee Unkrich (Pixar/Disney)

Dramatic Presentation, Short Form
‘Doctor Who: A Christmas Carol,’ written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
‘Doctor Who: The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang,’ written by Steven Moffat; directed by Toby Haynes (BBC Wales)
‘Doctor Who: Vincent and the Doctor,’ written by Richard Curtis; directed by Jonny Campbell (BBC Wales)
'... Me, Ray Bradbury,’ written by Rachel Bloom; directed by Paul Briganti
‘The Lost Thing,’ written by Shaun Tan; directed by Andrew Ruhemann and Shaun Tan (Passion Pictures)

Editor, Short Form
John Joseph Adams
Stanley Schmidt
Jonathan Strahan
Gordon Van Gelder
Sheila Williams

Editor, Long Form
Lou Anders
Ginjer Buchanan
Moshe Feder
Liz Gorinsky
Nick Mamatas
Beth Meacham
Juliet Ulman

Professional Artist
Daniel Dos Santos
Bob Eggleton
Stephan Martiniere
John Picacio
Shaun Tan

Clarkesworld, edited by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, Sean Wallace; podcast directed by Kate Baker
Interzone, edited by Andy Cox
Lightspeed, edited by John Joseph Adams
Locus, edited by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong
Weird Tales, edited by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Banana Wings, edited by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
Challenger, edited by Guy H. Lillian III
The Drink Tank, edited by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
File 770, edited by Mike Glyer
StarShipSofa, edited by Tony C. Smith

Fan Writer
James Bacon
Claire Brialey
Christopher J Garcia
James Nicoll
Steven H Silver

Fan Artist
Brad W. Foster
Randall Munroe
Maurine Starkey
Steve Stiles
Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer
Award for the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer of 2009 or 2010, sponsored by Dell Magazines (not a Hugo Award). All Campbell finalists are in their second year of eligibility.
Saladin Ahmed
Lauren Beukes
Larry Correia
Lev Grossman
Dan Wells

-- Carolyn Kellogg