Jennifer Egan wins L.A. Times book prize in fiction

Share via

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

This post has been corrected. See note at the bottom for details.

Jennifer Egan’s ‘A Visit from the Goon Squad,’ won the L.A. Times 2010 book prize for fiction, it was announced in a ceremony in Los Angeles on Friday night. The top nonfiction prize went to Micahel Lewis for his book ‘The Big Short.’


Read more about the prizes here.

The Los Angeles Times 2010 Book Prize winners:

•Fiction: Jennifer Egan, ‘A Visit From the Goon Squad’ (Knopf)

•Nonfiction: Michael Lewis, ‘The Big Short’ (W.W. Norton)

•Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction: Peter Bognanni, ‘The House of Tomorrow’ (Amy Einhorn Books/Putnam)

•Biography: Laura Hillenbrand, ‘Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience & Redemption’ (Random House)


•Graphic Novel: Adam Hines, ‘Duncan the Wonder Dog: Show One’ (AdHouse Books)

•History: Thomas Powers, ‘The Killing of Crazy Horse’ (Knopf)

•Mystery-Thriller: Tom Franklin, ‘Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter’ (William Morrow)

•Poetry: Maxine Kumin, ‘Where I Live: New & Selected Poems 1990-2010’ (W. W. Norton & Company)

•Science & Technology: Oren Harman, ‘The Price of Altruism: George Price and the Search for the Origins of Kindness’ (W. W. Norton & Company)

•Young Adult Literature: Megan Whalen Turner, ‘A Conspiracy of Kings’ (Greenwillow/HarperCollins)


For the record, 12:38 a.m. April 30: In an earlier version of this post, the title of the winner of the fiction prize was incorrectly given as ‘Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience & Redemption’ in the list of winners.

-- Carolyn Kellogg