2011 Nebula Award nominees announced


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

The nominees for the 2011 Nebula Awards for science fiction and fantasy writing were announced Monday. The winners will be chosen by active members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America; voting will run from March 1 to March 30.

The Nebula Awards pay particular attention to short fiction, with categories for novella, novelette and short story. The Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Screen Presentation mixes film and television, so Martin Scorcese’s 3-D ‘Hugo’ (no relation to the Hugo science fiction awards) is going up against an episode of ‘Dr. Who’ written by Neil Gaiman. In the running for the Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book is Franny Billingsley’s ‘Chime,’ which was a finalist for the National Book Award.


The full list of nominees:

‘Among Others,’ Jo Walton (Tor)
‘Embassytown,’ China Miéville (Macmillan UK; Del Rey; Subterranean Press)
‘Firebird,’ Jack McDevitt (Ace Books)
‘God’s War,’ Kameron Hurley (Night Shade Books)
‘Mechanique: A Tale of the Circus Tresaulti,’ Genevieve Valentine (Prime Books)
‘The Kingdom of Gods,’ N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

“Kiss Me Twice,” Mary Robinette Kowal (Asimov’s Science Fiction, June 2011)
“Silently and Very Fast,” Catherynne M. Valente (WFSA Press; Clarkesworld Magazine, October 2011)
“The Ice Owl,” Carolyn Ives Gilman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, November/December 2011)
“The Man Who Bridged the Mist,” Kij Johnson (Asimov’s Science Fiction, October/November 2011)
“The Man Who Ended History: A Documentary,” Ken Liu (Panverse Three, Panverse Publishing)
“With Unclean Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, November 2011)

“Fields of Gold,” Rachel Swirsky (Eclipse 4, Night Shade Books)
“Ray of Light,” Brad R. Torgersen (Analog Science Fiction and Fact, December 2011)
“Sauerkraut Station,” Ferrett Steinmetz (Giganotosaurus, November 2011)
“Six Months, Three Days,” Charlie Jane Anders (, June 2011)
“The Migratory Pattern of Dancers,” Katherine Sparrow (Giganotosaurus, July 2011)
“The Old Equations,” Jake Kerr (Lightspeed Magazine, July 2011)
“What We Found,” Geoff Ryman (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, September/October 2011)

Short story
“Her Husband’s Hands,” Adam-Troy Castro (Lightspeed Magazine, October 2011)
“Mama, We are Zhenya, Your Son,” Tom Crosshill (Lightspeed Magazine, April 2011)
“Movement,” Nancy Fulda (Asimov’s Science Fiction, March 2011)
“Shipbirth,” Aliette de Bodard (Asimov’s Science Fiction, February 2011)
“The Axiom of Choice,” David W. Goldman (New Haven Review, Winter 2011)
“The Cartographer Wasps and the Anarchist Bees,” E. Lily Yu (Clarkesworld Magazine, April 2011)
“The Paper Menagerie,” Ken Liu (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, March/April 2011)

Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation
‘Attack the Block,’ Joe Cornish (writer/director) (Optimum Releasing; Screen Gems)
‘Captain America: The First Avenger,’ Christopher Markus, Stephen McFeely (writers), Joe Johnston (director) (Paramount)
‘Doctor Who: ‘The Doctor’s Wife,’’ Neil Gaiman (writer), Richard Clark (director) (BBC Wales)
‘Hugo,’ John Logan (writer), Martin Scorsese (director) (Paramount)
‘Midnight in Paris,’ Woody Allen (writer/director) (Sony)
‘Source Code,’ Ben Ripley (writer), Duncan Jones (director) (Summit)
‘The Adjustment Bureau,’ George Nolfi (writer/director) (Universal)

Andre Norton Award for Young Adult Science Fiction and Fantasy Book
‘Akata Witch,’ Nnedi Okorafor (Viking Juvenile)
‘Chime,’ Franny Billingsley (Dial Books; Bloomsbury)
‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone,’ Laini Taylor (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Hodder & Stoughton)
‘Everybody Sees the Ants,’ A.S. King (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)
‘The Boy at the End of the World,’ Greg van Eekhout (Bloomsbury Children’s Books)
‘The Freedom Maze,’ Delia Sherman (Big Mouth House)
‘The Girl of Fire and Thorns,’ Rae Carson (Greenwillow Books)
‘Ultraviolet,’ R.J. Anderson (Orchard Books; Carolrhoda Books)

Winners will be announced during the SFWA’s 47th annual Nebula Awards Weekend, May 17-20, in Arlington, Va., where Connie Willis will receive the 2011 Damon Knight Grand Master Award for her lifetime contributions and achievements.

Walter Jon Williams will preside as toastmaster; the keynote speaker will be astronaut Michael Fincke, who has served two tours aboard the International Space Station -- something science fiction writers dream of.



2010 Nebula Award winners announced

2010 Hugo Award nominees announced

Indies find success at the 2009 Nebula Awards

-- Carolyn Kellogg