Steven Millhauser beats DeLillo, Pearlman for 2011 Story Prize


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Steven Millhauser took the 2011 Story Prize in New York City Wednesday night, winning over fellow finalists Don DeLillo and Edith Pearlman. Millhauser will receive $20,000 for his collection ‘We Others: New and Selected Stories.’ In 1997, Millhauser won the Pulitzer Prize for his novel ‘Martin Dressler.’

In addition to the $20,000, winner Millhauser was given a silver bowl. Runners-up Delillo and Pearlman received $5,000 each. All three authors read at the ceremony -- DeLillo from ‘The Angel Esmeralda’ and Pearlman, who recently won the National Book Critics Circle award for fiction, from ‘Binocular Vision.’


A three-judge panel selected the winner: author Sherman Alexie; Louise Steinman, curator of the Los Angeles Public Library’s ALOUD series, who is also an author; and Breon Mitchell, a translator, professor of comparative literature, and director of the Lilly Library at Indiana University. I served as a judge of the 2009 Story Prize.

Founded in 2004, the Story Prize is designed to bring attention the craft and accomplishments of short fiction. Previous winners include Edwidge Danticat, Patrick O’Keeffe, Mary Gordon, Jim Shepard, Tobias Wolff, Daniyal Mueenuddin and Anthony Doerr.


The Story Prize finalists: Delillo, Pearlman and Millhauser

Anthony Doerr awarded the 2010 Story Prize

Daniyal Mueenuddin, winner of the 2009 Story Prize

-- Carolyn Kellogg