Guggenheim announces 2012 fellows


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

The Guggenheim Foundation announced its 2012 fellows Thursday. The 181 fellows include scientists, scholars, composers, visual artists and writers of many stripes.

There are seven fellows in fiction. Donald Ray Pollock (above left), began writing after working in a paper mill for 32 years; his 2011 novel ‘The Devil All the Time’ tells a brutal story of faith and betrayal in midcentury Ohio. Arthur Phillips, author of ‘The Tragedy of Arthur,’ was one of the L.A. Times’ 2011 faces to watch in literature. Other fiction fellows include Lydia Millet (a face to watch in 2008), John Dufresne, Barbara Gowdy, Lance Olsen and John Wray.


Thirteen writers have been named fellows in general nonfiction, including Sarah Manguso (above right), whose most recent book is ‘The Guardians: An Elegy.’ Notably, graphic novelist Alison Bechdel will receive a nonfiction fellowship. The other nonfiction fellows are Eliza Griswold, James Kaplan, Peter Maass, Eileen Myles, Judith Pascoe, Lia Purpura, Lauren Redniss, Joan Richardson, Elizabeth D. Samet, Richard Snow and Benjamin Taylor.

Two of the three biography winners have announced what they are currently working on: Ruth Franklin is writing a biography of writer Shirley Jackson, and Terry Teachout is at work on a biography of Duke Ellington. The third biography fellow is David J. Hancock.

Ten fellows have been named in poetry: Katharine Coles, Kwame Dawes, Timothy Donnelly, Kathleen Graber, Pablo Medina, Joseph Millar, Jim Moore, Elizabeth Willis, Christian Wiman and C. Dale Young.

The director of USC’s Masters of Professional Writing program, Brighde Mullins, is a fellow in drama.


2011 Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalists announced


National Medal of Arts and National Humanities Medals announced

$100,000 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award goes to Timothy Donnelly

-- Carolyn Kellogg