2007 Editorial Awards: about the winners


This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

This updates the earlier posting that gave names of the Editorial Award winners with some information about each.

-- Breaking News: The California staff and the Photography staff for their coverage of wildfires across huge swaths of Southern California.


-- Beat Reporting: Robyn Dixon for her coverage of Africa, especially the brutality and violence in Zimbabwe.

-- Investigations: Virgina Ellis, Nancy Vogel, Evan Halper, Jordan Rau, Peter Nicholas, Patrick McGreevy, Paul Pringle, Michael Rothfeld for their digging into the influence on California government of political money, especially from special interests.

-- Explanatory: Richard Verrier, Claudia Eller, Meg James, Maria Elena Fernandez, Joe Menn, Matea Gold, John Horn, Scott Collins, Patrick Goldstein, Mary McNamara, Lynn Smith, Andrea Chang, Greg Braxton, Martin Miller for their coverage of the Hollywood writers strike.

-- Opinion: William Lobdell for his first-person essay on how his own faith was shattered when he undertook the assignment of covering religion.

-- News Photography: Wally Skalij and Karen Tapia-Andersen for the images they captured of the California wildfires.

-- Feature Photography: Rob Gauthier for his chronicle of the Stanley Cup after its capture by the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim.


-- News Design / Graphics: Derek Simmons for his redesign of the Business News section.

-- Features Design/ Graphics: Leslie Carlson for her illustration style and draftsmanship, reporting, research and versatility.

-- Copy Editing: Susan Worrell for her meticulousness, inquiring mind, collegiality and anticipatory professionalism.

-- Headline Writing: Dave Bowman for his deft touch, versatility and great range in providing sparkling wordplay without sacrificing accuracy, clarity or communication of key news elements.

-- Assignment Editing: Linda Rogers for directing and editing daily and enterprise coverage of state government.

-- Support Staff: David Rickley, Jim Angius, Greg Beckmann, Michael Edwards, Susan Larriva, Rita Magsino, Gary Metzker, Matt Randall, Diana Shantic, Steve Straehley, Katrina Ten, Barbara Thomas, for their work in the News Operations group.

-- Best Writing: Tom Curwen for his book reviews, travel pieces and the multipart ‘Attacked by a Grizzly.’

-- Multimedia: Jill Leovy for her ‘Homicide Blog.’


-- Sports: Mike Bresnahan for his continuing coverage of the 2007-08 Los Angeles Lakers.

-- Editor’s Prize: Peter Spiegel and Julian E. Barnes for their sustained excellence in keeping The Times consistently ahead in its coverage of the Pentagon.

-- The Publisher’s Prize: Andrew Malcolm and Don Frederick (previously announced) for their coverage of the historic 2008 presidential campaign via the Top of the Ticket blog.

-- Special Citation: Karlene Goller, editorial counsel, for her unstinting standards and her long advocacy to increase through the courts and other legal institutions the newsgathering capacities of The Times.