Advertisement
Share

Google Buzz will ask all users to review privacy settings

This article was originally on a blog post platform and may be missing photos, graphics or links. See About archive blog posts.

Perhaps tidying up the last of the privacy kerfuffle that marred Google Buzz’s launch, Google will highlight changes to its social networking product’s privacy settings Monday.

When users click on the Buzz tab in Gmail, a screen asks them to confirm their current privacy settings. The page displays the sites that are connected to your profile (e.g. Twitter, Picasa), who you’re following, who is following you and whether those lists of people are shown on your public profile.

Advertisement

The confirmation screen will show up in Buzz for all Gmail users by the end of the day Monday, a Google spokeswoman said.

The page echoes changes Google made to Buzz nearly two months ago. In February, Google began suggesting profiles to follow on Buzz rather than automatically connecting users with people they frequently e-mail. The changes also stopped Buzz from automatically broadcasting users’ public photos on Picasa Web Albums and shared posts in Google Reader.

With the initial ruckus behind it, Google is hoping that Buzz can begin to chip away at Facebook and Twitter’s hefty lead in the social network race.

-- Mark Milian
twitter.com/markmilian

Related:


Advertisement