4 L. B. Council Races to Be Decided

Twenty-six candidates in four City Council races will be on Tuesday's municipal ballot in Long Beach. Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. There are 15,465 registered voters in District 1; 24,269 in District 3; 18,903 in District 7, and 16,704 in District 9.

District 1:

Ron Batson, 46, attorney; Evan Anderson Braude, 38, attorney; John Carl Brogdon, 57, supervising appraiser, county assessor; Thomas (Ski) Demski, 56, bumper sticker manufacturer; Paul W. Diefenbach Sr., 73, retired railroad ticket agent; Roosevelt (Rose) Hobbs, 45, shipping supervisor; Frank B. Hudzik, 69, retired welder; Joy Melton, 42, legislative aide; Jennifer Ann Oropeza, 28, legislative aide; Donald W. Phillips, 60, pie shop owner; O. B. Powell, 62, disabled; Mary Alice Romero, 49, probate referee; Daniel Rosenberg, 56, self-employed anthropologist, and Allen E. Taylor, 45, electrical engineer.

District 3:

Jan Hall, 43, housewife and councilwoman; E. W. (Bud) Huber Jr., 41, telecommunications manager; Louis Mirabile, 71, automobile dealer, and Jim Serles, 45, dentist.

District 5:

Ernie Kell, 57, developer and councilman, elected unopposed.

District 7:

William H. Burford, 43, attorney; Ray Grabinski, 42, delicatessen owner, and Eunice N. Sato, 64, housewife and councilwoman.

District 9:

Carlos M. Barraza, 59, insurance agent; Jay Cain, 45, key-punch operator; Warren Harwood, 46, county administrator and councilman; Ralph R. Howe, 46, retired fire captain, and Johnny M. (Skip) Williams, 42, public school staff assistant.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World