COMMENCEMENT 1986 : Cal State Long Beach

California State University, Long Beach, celebrated its 37th annual commencement with nine separate ceremonies on campus over a three-day period beginning Wednesday.


Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Gordon Ringer addressed 657 graduates of the School of Humanities Wednesday in the central quadrangle.

The School of Social and Behavioral Science’s ceremony Wednesday featured speakers Dr. Keith Polakoff, dean of the school, and Anne Huxley, chair of the school’s student council. A total of 604 diplomas were awarded.


Dr. Donald Lauda, dean of the School of Applied Arts and Sciences, addressed 613 graduates Wednesday. The ceremony included the presentation of citations to student graduates from each of the eight departments in the school.

Illinois Gov. James R. Thompson delivered the commencement address Thursday to 829 graduates of the School of Business Administration.

Richard Williams, dean of the School of Engineering, spoke Thursday about the “high-tech challenge for today’s engineering graduate.” Diplomas were awarded to 681.

Alice Petrossian, chair of the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing, spoke at the Graduate School of Education’s ceremony Thursday in the Student Union plaza. Diplomas were awarded to 90.


The Cal State Long Beach Brass Choir performed Friday in the central quadrangle for 314 graduates of the School of Fine Arts.

Dr. Harold P. Hanson, executive director of the U.S. House of Representatives’ Committee on Science and Technology, spoke Friday at the School of Natural Science’s commencement exercises in the central quadrangle.

Harlan Cleveland, dean of the Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Administration, University of Minnesota, spoke Friday about the “passing of remoteness in the Pacific Basin” at the commencement exercises for the Center for Public Policy and Administration.

Other graduations:


Charles P. Drew Medical School: Held its second annual commencement ceremony Sunday in the W. Montague Cobb Medical Education Building. Thirteen degrees were awarded. The speaker was Dr. David Satcher, president of Meharry Medical College in Nashville, Tenn., and former temporary dean of Drew.