Dodgers' True Blue Is the One, the Only . . . Now Heeere's Tommy

Myron Benson's letter (Oct. 8) suggested that Tommy Lasorda's skills were not responsible for the Dodgers winning the National League West division title in 1988.

It is true that Fred Claire did an outstanding job in obtaining the services of Kurt Gibson, Alfredo Griffin, Jay Howell and Jesse Orosco, but I have question. Who has been the winningest manager in the major leagues since 1977?



Editor's note: From 1977 through '88, first on the list is Tom Lasorda with 1,020 regular-season victories. During that period, Sparky Anderson has 1,016.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World