‘Absentee’ Votes Cast From Space Station

From Reuters

Three Soviet cosmonauts aboard the orbiting space station Mir voted in the parliamentary election Sunday but without a secret ballot.

The official news agency Tass said that Alexander Volkov, Sergei Krikalev and Valery Polyakov had announced their choice of candidates during a regular communications session with ground control.

The cosmonauts’ votes were then passed to the election commission for inclusion in the final count.