NATION : Impeachment Trial Panel Named

From Times wire services

The Senate named a 12-member committee today to hear evidence in the impeachment trial of U.S. District Judge Walter L. Nixon of Mississippi, who is serving a five-year prison term for perjury.

Appointed to the evidence-hearing committee were Sens. Wyche Fowler (D-Ga.), Howell Heflin (D-Ala.), Timothy Wirth (D-Colo.), Harry Reid (D-Nev.), Charles Robb (D-Va.), Herbert Kohl (D-Wis.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), John C. Danforth (R-Mo.), John Chafee (R-R.I.), Frank Murkowski (R-Alaska), James Jeffords (R-Vt.) and Connie Mack (R-Fla.).

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World