Louisiana’s Abortion Law
A summary of the Louisiana abortion law enacted over Gov. Buddy Roemer’s veto:
* Abortions are banned except to save the life of the mother or in cases of rape or incest.
* Doctors face up to 10 years in prison and a fine of $100,000 for performing an illegal abortion. There is no penalty for the woman.
* Victims of rape or incest must report the crime within a week, or within a week of recovery if the victim is incapacitated. The doctor must obtain written verification that the victim reported the crime. The abortion must be performed within the first 13 weeks of pregnancy.