Race to Succeed Metzenbaum Is Down to Wire

Associated Press

A contentious U.S. Senate primary race went down to the wire Tuesday with voters choosing nominees to succeed retiring three-term Democrat Howard M. Metzenbaum.

Ohio voters also picked a Democratic candidate to run against first-term Republican Gov. George V. Voinovich.

In Indiana, U.S. Sen. Richard G. Lugar was unopposed in the Republican primary for nomination to a fourth term. Jim Jontz, a former congressman, was heavily favored on the Democratic side.

Three of 12 House seats in North Carolina were up for grabs because of retiring incumbents: Democrats Tim Valentine and Stephen L. Neal and Republican Alex McMillan.

Ohio Lt. Gov. Mike DeWine; Bernadine P. Healy, former director of the National Institutes of Health; state Sen. Gene Watts, and aviation consultant George Rhodes sought the GOP nomination for Metzenbaum's seat.

Democrats running were lawyer Joel Hyatt, Metzenbaum's son-in-law; Cuyahoga County Commissioner Mary Boyle, and Columbus businessman Ralph Applegate.

Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World