‘Seinfeld,’ ‘ER’ Casts Win Guild Awards

From Associated Press

The cast of “Seinfeld” was named best ensemble in a television comedy Saturday and the show’s Julia Louis-Dreyfus won a best actress honor as the Screen Actors Guild saluted the best of TV and film.

In film, Geoffrey Rush of “Shine” and Frances McDormand of “Fargo” won best actor and best actress, respectively, for their roles in the two independent movies.

“My name is Jerry Seinfeld and I am a bad actor,” the show’s namesake said in accepting the ensemble award, as his castmates laughed behind him.

“But I think I have proven convincingly that you can do very well in our business if you are smart enough to surround yourself with these spectacular talents that I have here beside me.”


The third annual SAG awards, which were held at Shrine Exhibition Hall, were determined by a vote of the guild’s 86,000 members in five film categories and eight TV categories. Along with the Golden Globes, they are closely watched for hints of who might win Academy Awards on March 24.

“The English Patient,” nominated by the guild in four film categories, did not win any.

“Two of my goals as an actor are to confound expectations and to gain the respect of my peers,” McDormand said. “And if that’s what you’re telling me tonight, thank you very much, I’m very grateful.”

Rush, who portrayed pianist David Helfgott, said he felt as if someone was about to wake him from a dream.


“Seinfeld” led the television field heading into the show but co-stars Michael Richards and Jason Alexander lost the best actor in a TV comedy award to John Lithgow of “3rd Rock From the Sun.”

For the second year in a row, Anthony Edwards accepted the award for outstanding cast in a drama on behalf of the “ER” actors.

Dennis Franz of “NYPD Blue” took home the best actor award in the TV drama category.

Gillian Anderson was named best actress in a drama for her role on “The X-Files.”


On the movie side, Cuba Gooding Jr. won a best supporting actor award for his role in “Jerry Maguire.” Lauren Bacall won the supporting actress award for her performance in “The Mirror Has Two Faces.” The actors from “The Birdcage” won the best film cast award.

Alan Rickman won a best actor award in a TV movie or miniseries for “Rasputin.” Kathy Bates was named best actress in a TV movie or miniseries for “The Late Shift,” about the late-night television wars.

Actress Angela Lansbury won a lifetime achievement award for her involvement with charities.