Times Forms Committee in Response to Scandal

From Times Wire Reports

The New York Times announced a panel of 20 staffers and two outside news executives to review newsroom policies after the Jayson Blair scandal.

The Times named retiring Associated Press President and Chief Executive Louis D. Boccardi and Joann Byrd, outgoing Seattle Post-Intelligencer editorial page editor, to the committee.

The committee will make recommendations to Publisher Arthur Ochs Sulzberger Jr., Executive Editor Howell Raines and Managing Editor Gerald M. Boyd.