Polar Prize goes to Fleming, Floyd

From the Associated Press

American soprano Renee Fleming and Pink Floyd band members Nick Mason and Roger Waters were awarded this year’s Swedish Polar Music Prize in Stockholm on Tuesday.

The award committee said that Fleming won because of her unparalleled voice and Pink Floyd for its monumental contribution to the development of popular culture. Each award is worth $157,700.

The Polar prize is Sweden’s biggest music award and is usually split between pop artists and classical musicians. The 2007 prize went to jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins and composer Steve Reich.