NEA announces 2014 creative writing fellowships

NEA announces 2014 creative writing fellowships
Percival Everett is one of 38 authors awarded an NEA creative writing fellowship for 2014. (Jay L. Clendenin / Los Angeles Times)

Thirty-eight authors will get $25,000 each to support their creative writing in 2014 from the National Endowment for the Arts, it was announced Wednesday. The writers were selected from more than 1,300 applicants.

The California recipients are Chris Feliciano Arnold, Alex Espinoza, Percival Everett, Peter Gadol, Sara Houghteling, Eugene Marten, Daniel Mason, Ottessa Moshfegh and Martin Pousson.


The complete list of recipients is below.

Chris Feliciano Arnold

Jesse Ball

Quan Barry

Clare Beams

Laura Marsh Bell

Andrew Brininstool

Catherine Chung

Marcia Douglas

Patricia Engel

Alex Espinoza

Percival Everett

Kime Coleman Foote

Rebecca Makkai


Peter Gadol

V.V. Ganeshananthan

Goldie Goldblum

Kelle Groom

Tina May Hall

Michelle Hoover

Sara Houghteling

Barry Kitterman

Adam Levin

Eugene Marten

Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

Daniel Mason

Aria Minu-Sepehr

Ottessa Moshfegh

Mekinda Moustakis

Rajesh Parameswaran

Martin Pousson

Catherine Reid

Bruce Holland Rogers

Matt Sailor

Josie Sigler

Justin Torres

Lu Vickers

Lesle Walker Williams

Callan Wink

The NEA also made grants to a number of arts groups working in dance, theater, music, literary journals and community organizations fostering the arts for a total of $25.8 million.


Carolyn Kellogg: Join me on Twitter, Facebook and Google+