Advertisement

'Jungle Book' likely to remain No. 1 at the box office a third straight weekend

'Jungle Book' likely to remain No. 1 at the box office a third straight weekend
Mowgli, portrayed by Neel Sethi, right, and Baloo the bear, voiced by Bill Murray, appear in a scene from "The Jungle Book." (Disney)

"The Jungle Book" is expected to deliver a third-straight win at the box-office for Walt Disney Co. this weekend, continuing a hot-streak for the Burbank entertainment giant.

The studio's retelling of the classic Rudyard Kipling stories is likely to collect $30 million to $35 million in ticket sales Friday through Sunday in the U.S. and Canada, adding to an already ferocious domestic total of $192 million so far. Directed by Jon Favreau, the $175-million live-action and computer-generated production has soared to $544 million in worldwide receipts.

Advertisement

Disney is enjoying a strong run at the box office — one that is expected to continue May 1 when its latest Marvel Studios picture "Captain America: Civil War" hits American multiplexes. The company's other 2016 blockbuster, "Zootopia," has grossed more than $900 million globally so far.

Analysts say both "Zootopia" and "The Jungle Book" have a shot at reaching the coveted $1-billion mark.

"The Jungle Book" has little competition standing in its way this weekend before it hands off the baton to the Marvel superheroes.

Warner Bros. will make a play for fans of Comedy Central's "Key & Peele" with the release of the R-rated action comedy "Keanu," in which comic duo Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele play friends trying to save a stolen kitten. Peele teamed with "Key & Peele" collaborator Alex Rubens to write the screenplay, which is also directed by the show's Peter Atencio.

The feature, which cost $15 million to make, is expected to gross up to $15 million through Sunday, according to people who have seen pre-release audience surveys, though the studio is projecting a more conservative opening of about $10 million.

Two other wide releases will try to lure very different moviegoing audiences: the romantic comedy "Mother's Day" and the video game adaptation "Ratchet & Clank."

Open Road Films' "Mother's Day" — starring Jennifer Aniston, Julia Roberts, Jason Sudeikis and Kate Hudson — is expected to bring in about $10 million over the weekend, banking on females to flock to the cinemas.

"Ratchet & Clank," an animated big-screen version of a popular Sony PlayStation game, should haul in $10 million or less through Sunday. It is being distributed by Focus Features' Gramercy label.

Advertisement
Advertisement