‘Room,’ ‘The Martian,’ ‘The Big Short’ among the nominees for the USC Libraries Scripter Awards


Brie Larson and Jacob Tremblay star in “Room.” Writer Emma Donoghue received a nomination Jan. 7 for the USC Libraries Scripter Award.


The authors and screenwriters of “The Big Short,” “Brooklyn,” “The End of the Tour,” “The Martian” and “Room” were nominated Thursday morning for the 28th USC Libraries Scripter Award.

The Scripter Award is unique in that it honors the screenwriter or screenwriters of an adaptation as well as the authors of the original material on which the script was based.

And for the first time in its history, the Scripter Award has expanded into television.

The feature film nominees are:


“The Big Short,” screenwriters Adam McKay and Charles Randolph, adapted from Michael Lewis’ nonfiction work, “The Big Short: Inside the Doomsday Machine”

“Brooklyn,” novelist Colm Toibin and screenwriter Nick Hornby

“The End of the Tour,” screenwriter Donald Margulies, adapted from David Lipsky’s memoir, “Although of Course You End Up Becoming Yourself: A Road Trip with David Foster Wallace”

“The Martian,” novelist Andy Weir and screenwriter Drew Goddard


“Room,” Emma Donoghue for the novel and screenplay

Television nominees:

“Game of Thrones,” screenwriters David  Benioff and D.B. Weiss for the episode “Hardhome,” adapted from the fantasy series “A Song of Ice and Fire,” by George R.R. Martin

“The Leftovers,” Damon Lindelof and Jacqueline Hoyt for the episode “Axis Mundi,” based on the novel by Tom Perrotta

“The Man in the High Castle,” Frank Spotnitz  for the episode “The New World,” based on the novel by Philip K. Dick

“Masters of Sex,” Michelle Ashford for the episode “Full Ten Count,” based on the biography by Thomas Maier, “Masters of Sex: The Life and Times of William Masters and Virginia Johnson, the Couple Who Taught America How to Love”

“Show Me a Hero,” screenwriters William F Zorzi and David Simon, based on the nonfiction book by Lisa Belkin.

Previous Scripter winners such as “The Imitation Game,” “12 Years a Slave” and “Argo” have gone on to win the Academy Award.


The USC Libraries will announce the Scripter winners at a ceremony Feb. 20 at the Edward L. Dohney Jr. Memorial Library on the University Park campus of USC.