Weezer turns back the clock with surprise new release, ‘The Teal Album’


Weezer must have been feeling nostalgic because the Grammy-winning band just dropped an eclectic covers album titled “Weezer (The Teal Album)” that’s brimming with throwback hits.

The 10-track record includes their versions of Toto’s “Africa” — likely to the delight of “SNL’s” Leslie Jones and Matt Damon — TLC’s “No Scrubs,” a-ha’s “Take on Me,” Black Sabbath’s “Paranoid,” Michael Jackson’s “Billie Jean” and more.

“The Teal Album” — and its largely Miami Vice-inspired cover art — was released digitally late Wednesday night, and, just to drive home that 20th century feeling, CD orders on their website are accompanied by velcro wallets and coasters. (Alas, they’ve already sold out of the wallets.)


The album, Weezer’s latest with Crush Music/Atlantic Records, started coming together last summer during the group’s amphitheater tour, during which they worked covers of “Africa” and the Turtles’ “Happy Together” into their sets.

“Given the tremendous response to these songs at the shows, the band was inspired to put together a covers album — and thus ‘Weezer (The Teal Album)’ was born,” according to a statement from the band.

Here’s the complete track list for “Weezer (The Teal Album)”:

1. “Africa” (Toto)

2. “Everybody Wants to Rule the World” (Tears for Fears)

3. “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)” (The Eurythmics)

4. “Take on Me” (a-ha)

5. “Happy Together” (The Turtles)

6. “Paranoid” (Black Sabbath)

7. “Mr. Blue Sky” (Electric Light Orchestra)

8. “No Scrubs” (TLC)

9. “Billie Jean” (Michael Jackson)

10. “Stand By Me” (Ben E. King)

Follow me: @NardineSaad