4 Democrats, 1 Republican file papers for Rod Wright’s Senate seat

Rod Wright
Roderick D. Wright, shown during a court hearing, resigned from the state Senate, setting the stage for a Dec, 9 special election.
(Irfan Khan / Los Angeles Times)

Four Democrats and one Republican have filed papers by the deadline to compete in the Dec. 9 special election to fill the state Senate seat that was vacated when Sen. Roderick D. Wright (D-Inglewood) resigned after his sentencing for lying about living in his district.

The papers were due Friday afternoon, and Los Angeles elections officials will announce next week which candidates qualified for the ballot.

The winner of the election would fill the unexpired term for the 35th Senate District.

Democrats who filed papers by Friday’s deadline include retired teacher Louis L. Dominguez of San Pedro, perennial candidate Mervin Evans of Los Angeles, Assemblyman Isadore Hall III of Compton, and Harbor Planning Commissioner Hector Serrano of Wilmington.


The lone Republican to file papers is Inglewood businessman James Spencer.

If no candidates wins 50% of the vote plus one on Dec. 9, the top-two vote-getters will face each other in a runoff Feb. 10.


Get our Essential California newsletter